Untitled.png

Ella Hastie | Short Bio: 

I was born at the (old) Busselton Hospital and grew up on a property just outside of a quiet, sleepy, little town called Capel. I went to school in Capel and Bunbury before studying my first year of a Bachelor of Nursing Science at Edith Cowan University in Bunbury, Western Australia. Wanting a change and to experience something different - I moved to the Sunshine Coast, Queensland and completed three more years of Nursing study before graduating and moving back to Perth, where I gained employment as a Graduate Registered Nurse at King Edward Memorial Hospital (KEMH) and Sir Charles Gairdiner Hospital (SCGH).  

Even before my Nursing studies, I had always been interested in and wanted to work in women’s health and support women and their families… which was the exact reason I applied to the KEMH/SCGH graduate program. Whilst working at ‘King Eddies’ I got the opportunity to rotate around various areas including gynaecology, day surgery, family planning, pre-term birth, sexual health and antenatal clinics. It was here that I worked alongside knowledgeable and passionate midwives and experienced the wonderful world of ‘Midwifery’ for the first time…. It was ALSO here that my passion for caring for women was born and I knew that my calling in life was to become a Midwife

Fast forward to now and I am currently working at a local hospital as a Registered Nurse / Midwife. I have just qualified as a midwife and I cannot believe that my “job” means I am able to support women during pregnancy, labour and birth, and the postnatal period on a daily basis. It truly is a dream come true, and an amazing thing when a passion and a career come together! Eventually I will undertake further studies so that I can work as a Child Health Nurse… but for now I am a Nurse / Midwife and proud!! 

I currently live in my own home located in Bunbury. In my own time, I enjoy getting outdoors with my two beautiful dogs, catching up with my friends and family, travelling (both around Australia and overseas), trying out new foods and visiting new places.